EMP_20151111_004

My Fall.

Here in Mexico City and its suburbs autumn arrives somewhat later and with much less intensity than in the northern part of the country, the United States, or especially Canada, the foliage of the majority of trees nor does fall, neither turns into the vibrant hues of red and orange, so trying to find an image for my own taste that captured the feeling of the shorter days and the qualities of light that come with this season has been hard for me, even more so since in the preceding weeks I haven’t got the chance to travel to a location more suited to my mood.

EMP_20151111_004

Luckily a couple days ago I found this leaf next to a dried out fruit of a tree we here call “breva”, pretty similar to a fig, laying on a “lavadero” a fixture that is used to wash clothes by hand. The leaf’s subtle hues, its beauty preserved even though life had almost completely vanished from it, the lovely textures, next to the fruit’s touch of brown-reds and orange made click in my eye, my mind, and my camera.

Leave a Reply

